Posted by: Budger | July 5, 2011

Summer in Texas means Peaches

Peaches

It’s summer in Southeast Texas, and that means it’s hot.  Hot.Hot.Hot!  We are experiencing record-breaking heat, and it makes being outside pretty miserable.  But summer in Texas means other things as well.  It also means Peaches!

As a kid, I was not fond of peaches, but as an adult, they are one of my favorite summer fruits.  Last week I had some peaches and some raspberries that I needed to use, and I had received in my email the Food Network Recipe of the day for Blueberry Cornmeal Crumble.  I thought why not?  I could do that with my peaches.  But I had no cornmeal, and I needed it to be gluten-free.  So I decided to try it with what I had on hand.  Instead of Blueberries, I used Peaches and Raspberries.  Instead of cornmeal, I used some Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Quick Oats, and I used King Arthur’s Gluten-Free flour.  I really wasn’t expecting it to be good.  I figured it would be a failed experiment.  But was I wrong.

It was so good that Budgee said you need to make this again for 4th of July.  So I did.  And it was even better.  So here is the link to the recipe on FoodNetwork.com.  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/blueberry-crumble-with-cornmeal-almond-topping-recipe/index.html

I made the substitutions as indicated above, same measurements.  It was incredibly easy, and I can’t wait to try it again with some other fruit.  But for now, it’s summer in Texas, and that means Peaches.  So here is my Peach Raspberry Oat and Almond Crumble.  It was delicious, and it makes the heat tolerable.  Yummy!

Peach Raspberry Oat Almond Crumble


Responses

  1. Divine, Rhonda! Anything to make the heat bearable, right? 😉

    Hugs,
    Shirley

    • Thank you Shirley!


Leave a comment

Categories