Posted by: Budger | January 19, 2011

My Mom’s Rugelach and Katz Gluten Free Rugelach

My Mom makes the best Rugelach.  It has been a favorite in our house forever.  So when my Mom called before Christmas to find out if there were any special requests for Budgee, she asked if he would like Rugelach.  I said no, just bring him a Macadamia Nut Tart.  I then went and told Budgee that I was looking out for him, and that I had told Mom “No Rugelach”.  His response was, “are you kidding me?”  Actually that wasn’t his exact response; I provided you the edited version.  Insert very heavy sigh…

So I called Mom back, and reluctantly told her to bring the Rugelach.  Another heavy sigh…I then decided that there was NO WAY that I could make it through Christmas with Rugelach in the house and none for Budger.  I had seen the Katz Gluten Free website before, and decided it was time to try some of their goodies.  I don’t like to order food through the mail as the weather here prevents it the majority of the year, but I figured it was cool enough in December that it would be fine. 

So out to Katz Gluten Free I went, and I ordered some Cinnamon Rugelach.  I also ordered a Sample Pack.  I couldn’t wait for it to get here, and it showed up the day before my Mom.  As my Mom unpacked her Rugelach, I proudly showed off mine, and the next day for breakfast, I had a sample, and it was wonderful.  It didn’t have my Mom’s love, but it was very good.  And most importantly I didn’t have to be tempted by the regular Rugelach, and I wasn’t left out.  That was love in itself.

Last week, I had to grab something quick for breakfast to go with my coffee, and I dug the Cinnamon Rugelach sample and the Chocolate Muffin sample out of the sample pack in my freezer.  Here they are on my desk at work.  I loved the Chocolate muffin.  It was very light.  I will definitely be ordering more of both.

Katz Gluten Free Chocolate Muffin and Cinnamon Rugelach

The Sample Pack includes bread samples, a cookie sample, Marble Cake, the muffin and the Rugelach.  I haven’t made it through all of the other samples yet, but I will be soon.  The Sample Pack is free except for the Shipping and Handling.  I will definitely be getting some more Rugelach, and I also am going to try some of their Gluten Free Bread Crumbs. 

Thank you Katz Gluten Free for saving me from Rugelach envy.  You made my first Gluten Free Holiday complete.

Leave a Reply

Categories

