Posted by: Budger | January 11, 2011

My First Gluten Free Holiday – Cheddar Chipotle Mashed Sweet Potatoes

I like Sweet Potatoes, but I don’t like the way they are usually made during the holidays, doctored up as more of a dessert than a side dish.  So when I saw this recipe at  “Where’s my Damn Answer?” I knew I was going to make these.  Pretty much if I see a recipe with cheese, it immediately grabs my attention.  A recipe with cheese and spice, hits the must try list.  If you like cheese, and you like your dishes with a little bit of a kick, you’ll love these Sweet Potatoes.  They’re savory with a little bit of smoky heat, and cheesy goodness.  I made them for Thanksgiving and ate them for leftovers.  I also made them for my first Gluten Free Christmas, and they were the hit of the dinner.

My Mom came down for Christmas, and she doesn’t usually like a lot of spice.  So I thought I would make two batches, one with the Chipotle Peppers, and one without.  We made these ahead of time, and she decided to taste the batch with the pepper.  She then told me to combine the two batches and forget about the non-spicy version.  So we did.  We had 10 people for Christmas Eve Turkey dinner, and everyone that tried them loved them.  Also, I had sent the recipe to some friends, and they made them as well with the same success.

They were even better on Christmas Day with our ham.  And I can attest that heating them up in the microwave for breakfast is decadent.

Here is the original post from  “Where’s my Damn Answer?“, Cheddar Chipotle Mashed Sweet Potatoes, and here is the recipe below.

Cheddar Chipotle Mashed Sweet Potatoes

  • 3 lbs of Sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1″ dice / cubes
  • 1/2 Cup of UN-Salted Butter
  • 3 Tablespoons Minced Garlic
  • 1/3 Cup Heavy Cream
  • 1 Cup Sharp Cheddar Cheese, Shredded
  • 4 oz Cream Cheese , room temperature and diced
  • 2 Tablespoons Chipotle Chile’s in adobo sauce, Chopped fine

To Season: Kosher or Sea Salt and Fresh Ground Pepper

Cook the potatoes in a large pot of boiling salted water (20 plus minutes). Drain well. Return potatoes to pot and cook, stirring for a minute over medium heat to “dry out” the potatoes.

While the potatoes are cooking or “drying out”, warm butter in saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic and cook until lightly browned (a couple minutes) Stir in the cream to heat through.

Crush with a potato masher until smooth. Add cheddar cheese, cream cheese, chipotles and cream mixture. Stir to blend well. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Cheddar Chipotle Mashed Sweet Potatoes

I’m going to make some more this weekend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

