Posted by: Budger | November 14, 2010

A Budger Weekend Part 1 – Butternut Squash and Poblano Peppers

This past weekend, Budgee was away on a trip.  It used to be when Budger had the house to myself, I would plan a “chick” weekend as Budgee refers to them.  Watching “chick flicks” with the dogs, (Steel Magnolias and Fried Green Tomatoes are among my favorites.) reading my magazines in bed, dinner out with friends and splurging on my favorite things to eat.  This weekend, I decided I wanted to cook.  It’s been so crazy lately that I haven’t really spent any time in the kitchen cooking anything special.  So I planned ahead and picked out a few recipes.  I wanted some soup.  It’s starting to get cooler here, and I wanted some soup to take for lunch during the week.

Budgee is a picky eater, and there are a lot of things that I like that he doesn’t.  And he isn’t one to try new things.  So when I cook for both of us, I generally fix things that we both like.  But for the weekend, I went with what I wanted.  And I wanted Butternut Squash and Poblano Peppers.  Budgee refuses to eat squash or peppers.  However I love peppers of all kinds, and I’m liking squash more.

So I found this recipe for Roasted Butternut Squash and Poblano Pepper soup.  It sounded so good.  I had to try it.  But this was going to be a little bit of a challenge.  You see, since I don’t normally make squash, I had never made Butternut Squash.  I’d never even cut one open.  But I figured, what the heck.  How hard could it be?  Squash is squash right?  Well sort of.  It reminded me a little of carving pumpkins as a child.  I loved the color.  And the smell while it was roasting was heavenly.  That was the other goal of my weekend.  I wanted to make my kitchen smell like Grandma’s. 

The recipe was really easy, and I got to use my immersion blender.  And it turned out so good, that I had some for lunch and dinner.  I found the recipe on Food.com

Roasted Butternut Squash and Poblano Pepper Soup

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 poblano pepper
  • 1 lime, juice of
  • 3 cups low sodium vegetable broth or 3 cups water
  • cumin, to taste
  • pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Cut butternut squash in half, lengthwise and scoop out the seeds.

Place cut sides down on a baking sheet with the poblano pepper. Roast for 30-40 minutes, or until squash is cooked through.

Remove squash flesh (once it’s cool enough to touch) and put it in medium-large pot.

Remove the skin of the poblano (it looks a little plastic-y), tear the flesh into pieces/strips and drop in the pot.

Add the stock/water and puree in a blender or using an immersion blender.

Add cumin and pepper (black or white).

Add lime juice.

Cook over medium heat until it is reduced to a consistency that you like, stirring occasionally. If you add more water, it may be necessary to blend again.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream and/or some chopped fresh cilantro.

And here it is.  It was very yummy.  The picture does not do it justice. 

Roasted Butternut Squash and Poblano Pepper Soup

I had bought extra Poblano Peppers so that I could have some stuffed Poblano Peppers for dinner.  I love stuffed Poblanos, and they are so easy to make.  You can stuff them with whatever you want.  This time I decided to stuff them with some taco meat.   These were so good.  I wish I had gotten more peppers, so that I would have had more leftovers. 

Stuffed Poblano Peppers

  • 4 Poblano Peppers seeded and deveined
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 4 oz cream cheese softened
  • 2 jalapeno peppers diced
  • 1 can Rotel tomatos drained (optional)
  • 1/4 cup Cotija cheese
  • 1/2 cup Monterey Jack or Cheddar Cheese or Mexican Blend

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Slice poblano pepper in a T opening up the inside.  Clean the seeds and veins.

Dice jalapeno peppers.  If you don’t want them as hot, seed and devein prior to slicing.

Cook ground beef with taco seasoning per directions.

Mix ground beef with cream cheese, jalapenos, Rotel and Cotija cheese.

Stuff peppers and top with Monterey Jack or other cheese.  Cover with foil

Bake for 40 minutes, remove foil and bake until cheese is golden.

 

Stuffed Poblano Peppers

It was a great girls’ weekend.  The girls’ went to the beauty spa for a full treatment – doggie hair cut, facial and  mani/pedi, and Mom cooked with Law and Order episodes playing in the background, plus a round of Food Network.  Coming soon, Roasted Potato Leek Soup and Garlicky Chicken Thighs in a Red Pepper Sauce.  It just doesn’t get any better. 

This afternoon, I’m digging out Steel Magnolias.  The weekend isn’t over yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

