Posted by: Budger | October 24, 2010

Well let me tell you the story…

Budgee and I do not have regular children.  We have four-legged fuzzy babies.  Now one might think that we don’t spoil our babies, but one would be wrong.  They are the most spoiled dogs on the planet.  They get daily doses of loving, and 100% paid healthcare.  Who could ask for anything more?

We’ve had 5 babies so far over the years, and I say that our babies pick us, we don’t pick them.  I also say that they decide who the favorite parent is.  And nothing could prove my theory better than our youngest girl Lily.

Not only do we spoil our babies, but we talk for them too.  It takes awhile to get their personalities down, but we have whole conversations for the dogs.  I know what you’re thinking…that Budger household is one step away from crazy.  And you would be correct.  I have one baby that I sing the Barney song to every morning, and she responds by licking my nose  during the “a kiss from me to you” part.  But Lily is special.  She deserved a song all her own.  OK so not entirely her own, but she doesn’t know that.

You see our first adopted girl that we had since 2 weeks after we were married had passed away.  It was so hard to say goodbye to Misty.  Even though we know we will say goodbye to all, it’s never easy.  And for a year and a half we debated about adopting another.  I said when it’s the right dog, we will know.  One day we went into a Petco, and  there she was.  I don’t know how I knew she was our dog.  She was part Chihuahua, and Budgee and I don’t like Chihuahuas.  But as I picked her up to hold her, she reached up and licked my nose.  I looked at Budgee and said “we’re screwed.”  That dog turned on the major Mojo.  An hour later she was in our car headed to her new home.  The rescue organization had named her Tippy.  I told her that we were going to change her name, and give her a new life, and a new song.

You see, although I rescued Lily, I believe that she rescued me also.  She came 2 months before I had to have my pacemaker implant, and she stayed by my side during recovery and all of the many months after.  She licked my tears, and cuddled me during the worst of my tummy issues, and she is the first to greet me when I’m home.  Lily is my dog.  She chose me, and she is constantly by my side.  The only exception is when Budgee is eating popcorn.

Every morning as I get ready for work, Lily is snuggled under the covers on my side of the bed.  Sometimes she peeks out to tell me that I should come back to bed and join her.  And I wonder…what’s wrong with this picture?

Lily Sleeping In

And Lily’s song…well it’s sung to the Theme from The Beverly Hillbillies.

Well let me tell you the story of a dog named Tippy
Sittin’ on death row they said she’s kind of nippy
Then one day a Safe House volunteer
Said don’t you worry girl, we’ll get you out of here

Jackpot, Commutation, Lotto
 
Then one day Tippy’s sittin’ in Petco
In walks Mom and Dad and Tippy turns on the Mojo
Dad looks at Mom and says “oh she is so cute”
Mom looks at Dad and says ‘oh we are so screwed.”

Jackpot, Lotto, 100% paid healthcare
 
Now Tippy is called Lily
and she lives in her new home
Has herself two sisters and a big yard for her to roam
Everyone is laughin’ at Lily and her tricks
Cuz everything is better with Lily in the mix!

OK I never said it was a great song.  But it makes Lily happy.  She knows what it means.

Thank you Lily for all the Lily things you do, for coming into our lives, for turning on the mojo, for being so easy to love, and for keeping your parents crazy, and giving us something to sing about.

Responses

  1. Oh, how cute, Rhonda! Don’t we all do silly things for and with our animals? Even those of us who have children. I know I do. And, I do believe our pets find us and give us far more than we can ever give them in return. 🙂

    Shirley

  2. And she is one of my beloved granddoggies. What a funny delight.

    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

