Posted by: Budger | October 17, 2010

2010 Bike MS Valero Ride to the River

So what do 3 software consultants, 2 tech dudes, 3 maps people, 1 full-time Mom, 1 marketing person, 1 project manager, 2 semi-retired people and 1 twelve-year-old have in common?  They make up the 2010 Bike MS team for the P2 Pace Makers.  And as always the P2 Pace Makers rock.

This year, the Bike MS Ride to the River was truly a Ride to the River, instead of a Ride through the River like last year.  The weather was absolutely gorgeous with not a drop of rain.  The P2 Pace Makers started gathering in San Antonio on Friday night October 8 in preparation for the big day.  Picking up packets, jerseys and t-shirts were tops on the agenda as well as a Jersey modeling contest.  Saturday morning, bright and early, at 6 AM the team was back together for the start of the ride.  Time to air up tires, apply lots of Butt Butt’r, or too much in the case of our team Captain Shubee Doo, and take team pictures.  What is Butt Butt’r you might ask?  Well its official name is Chamois Butt’r, and it is a lubricant you apply to the chamois of your bike shorts to prevent chafing.  Used in proper quantities, it makes a long time in the saddle much more enjoyable.  Used in excessively large quantities, it causes one of the funniest moments ever at 6 AM before heading out for 70 miles on a bike without even having coffee.  BFF Shubee Doo has always been an overachiever.  I’d publish the blowout picture, but that would put the BFF status into question.

Anyway, 70 miles later, the team finished up in New Braunfels to a BBQ dinner and more laughs.  We had a bike shoe blowout that was fixed with duct tape, and an intact team to start the return trip on Sunday morning.  It was another beautiful day, and the team finished at the Alamodome before heading out for the requisite Margaritas. 

This year my primary role was as a support person, but I did get out and ride my bike for a few miles.  The beauty of this trip was that I was reminded that riding could be fun.  This was a feeling that I hadn’t had in a while.  So I have already signed up to return next year.  Also I made it through my first bike event Gluten-Free.  I was very concerned about how that was going to work, but it worked out just fine.  I brought my own snacks, and was very careful with what I ate.  Some Udi’s Blueberry muffins for breakfast started me off great.  My only problem was that I didn’t eat enough and ended up hungry.  I also got a little dehydrated and nauseated, but I can definitely say it had nothing to do with what I ate.  I had a great time doing support and cheering my team on.  And the most important thing…the P2 Pace Makers have raised over $8000 for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.  And as my friend Mo, who suffers from MS, told me “See you are making a difference.”  And with a cause like that, what’s a little butt butt’r blowout among friends? 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Responses

  1. Good for you, Rhonda! So glad that you had great weather and ate okay gluten free. Usually more protein is needed than we think to keep us satisfied at such events. And, I knew duct tape was great stuff, but even that fix surprises me!

    Hugs,
    Shirley

  2. Thank you so much for supporting MS through Bike MS! Each person’s role is vital on the ride. Great job on your fundraising!


Leave a Reply

Categories

