Posted by: Budger | August 24, 2010

I’d like to thank The Food Network

So by now you know that the whole cooking thing is relatively new in my world.  It is so new that it has become quite the source of entertainment and awe among my family and friends.  Budgee has been relishing in the newfound “cooking gene”, and I have appreciated his continued support and encouragement, but I got my biggest compliment from him a few weeks ago after I had made him one of his new favorite things. 

I received a message from Budgee that said “I’m jonesing for your Brussels Sprouts.”  So my initial reaction was that I had just been spammed, but then I thought: 

  • My husband just sent me an obscene message about…Brussels Sprouts???  Huh????
  • He’s hungry?
  • WTF does jonesing mean?

As I was frantically trying to get to the definition of “jonesing”, I quickly sent a message back that said “Gee honey, I don’t think you’ve ever said that about me, let alone my Brussels Sprouts”, trying not to let on that I had no idea what the hell he was saying.  (He may be more hip to urban slang, but at least Budger knows how to run her Blackberry.)  Thank God for Google, because it saved my mind from the gutter, which is where it naturally goes anyway. 

According to Urbandictionary.com, “jonesing” means “to have a strong need, desire, or craving for something”.  Huh, well what do you know?  Budgee who has survived a first date of badly burned spaghetti and 17 years of mediocre cooking likes my cooking gene.  He really, really likes my cooking gene.  (I think he likes me too, but you never know.)  He’s craving my Brussels Sprouts.  Now I’m the one scratching my head. 

So I’d like to take a moment to thank The Food Network for peaking my interest, and my Mom for fueling it, and all of my new Gluten Free and non Gluten Free Foodie friends for encouraging me and giving me ideas.  But most of all I’d like to thank Budgee for “jonesing” over my Brussels Sprouts.  I am so proud. 

 

Sauteed Brussels Sprouts

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

