Posted by: Budger | August 4, 2010

Ruggles Green – Gluten-Free Pizza! Hallelujah!

I am not a huge pizza fan, but I do love a good pizza pie.  I probably ate pizza twice a month before my diagnosis.  Since my diagnosis, nothing.  Nada.  Zilch.  Now I know there are a lot of brave people out there that make their own Gluten Free pizza dough, and I did think about it, but after the first baking expedition with my mom on Mother’s Day weekend, I haven’t been brave enough to try.  My baking has consisted of some Gluten Free muffins.  So although the cooking gene is thriving, the baking gene is in hiding.  First, I really don’t like to bake.  I hate getting flour all over everything, and second I really don’t like to play in dough.  I don’t like the feeling of that all over my hands.  I know.  Weird.  I liked to play with dough when I was a kid.  Anyway, so for a variety of reasons, I have not been able to bring myself to try homemade Gluten Free Pizza dough. 

And then one day, I saw a tweet from GlutenFree Houston, talking about Gluten Free Tuesdays at Ruggles Green, a restaurant here in Houston.  I went out to their website one day during lunch, and voila they have Gluten-Free pizza.  I’m sure there are other places that do as well, but I found this first. (I will say that I don’t think Houston has near the options of my fellow GF Tweeps in Austin.  At least not out in the burbs, where I live.)  So I set about making a plan.  I invited my best girlfriends, who are all currently working downtown near me, to go to lunch.  I made the appointment for 2 weeks out because I know how busy everyone is with meetings and projects.  I invited them to Gluten Free Tuesday at Ruggles Green.  I figured everyone has to eat, right?  Two weeks in advance should be more than enough time to rearrange schedules.  Right?  Uh, wrong. 

That was more than 2 months ago, and after rescheduling 3 times, yesterday we went to Gluten Free Tuesday at Ruggles Green.  It had been almost 6 months since I had pizza.  I was going through pizza withdrawal.  Budger was getting a little pizza free cranky.  When a Domino’s commercial came on TV one night, I drooled.  My dogs looked at me with the “Mom that’s really rude.” look.  I didn’t get any empathy from them.  I think they’re still ticked because I don’t share my steak with them. Budgee said that I looked at pizza on TV like it was a long-lost lover.  “You don’t even look at me that way.”  I just wanted a 12 inch pie with some pepperoni and cheese.  Fat content be damned.  I even contemplated having regular pizza.  

I was about to relegate satisfaction of my craving to eating a frozen gluten-free pizza, when I got the response that at least one, and possibly two, schedules were clear.  And it was just in time.  I had decided I was going even if I had to eat alone.  So yesterday was the day.  It turns out only one schedule was clear, but off we went, my good friend Nisee and I.  We ordered the gluten-free Pepperoni Pizza, and when they brought it to the table I drooled, and said a prayer of thank you.  I also took a picture.  For dessert, I picked up some Chocolate Chip Gluten Free Cookies from GlutenFree Houston.  Everything that was being served looked really good, and Nisee and I decided we are definitely going back.  

Ruggles Green Gluten Free Pepperoni Pizza

 

It was a great lunch and a great pizza.  Here is a link to the menu http://www.rugglesgreen.com/menus/RugglesGreenInStoreMenu7.pdf.  They have lots of gluten-free and vegan options.  So if you’re in Houston, and you have a craving for Gluten Free Pizza, I highly recommend Ruggles Green.  Thank you for being there when a girl REALLY needed you.  I figure I’m good for another couple of months now.  I only wish you were closer to my house.

Leave a Reply

Categories

