Posted by: Budger | July 21, 2010

I’m watching a flower grow here

If anyone has been in Houston in the last two weeks, or been anywhere near me, you have no doubt heard about our newest celebrity Corpse Flower Lois. I had never heard of a Corpse Flower before until the one here at the Houston Museum of Natural Science started threatening to bloom.  Turns out that they are a very rare flower who live in rain forests, and when blooming smell like a corpse.  Hence the name.  So when I first heard the story I thought that was interesting, and then thought maybe I would go see her when she bloomed.  And then I heard about her Twitter account.  Yes that’s right – a Twitter account.

@CorpzFlowrLois is hysterical.  I don’t know who does her Twitter updates, but I’d love to chat with them over a beer.  Gluten-free of course.  And so now I have been following @CorpzFlowrLois faithfully and patiently waiting for her to “finish cycling” and bloom.  And this morning, she’s starting to unfurl her leaves.  Just a little.  Unfortunately, now I have a sinus infection so even if I go to see Lois, I won’t be able to smell her, but I will keep reading her Twitter updates and laughing.  I only hope that when she does bloom, she keeps posting.

In the meantime, I have been sticking diligently to my low-fat diet, and exercising.  I’m not doing as good on the exercising as I would like, but I’m now down 12 1/2 pounds.  Yay!!!!!!!  And I have been continuing to channel that long-lost cooking gene, but I haven’t done anything spectacular that I thought was worth a post.  I know it’s coming.  I have almost mastered Grilled Swordfish with a Lemon Mushroom sauce.

Responses

  1. Congratulation on your weight loss! Have a good week!

  2. Hey girl. Congrats on your weight loss. I know it’s hard ( I lost 8 pounds and let me tell you, it has not been easy) but stick to it. I am sure that your overall health will improve as a result of it. And hon , you have always had the cooking gene, you just never had time to let it bloom. :-))


Leave a Reply

Categories

