Posted by: Budger | June 24, 2010

Welcome Summer – Spanish-Style Brined Pork Tenderloin and Sauteed Brussels Sprouts

So guess what?  Budger can make up a recipe too.  I actually made this a few weeks ago, but I have made the Brussels Sprouts a few times since.  BudgeE has gotten very fond of the Brussels Sprouts.  I am proud of this because I made them up.  This long-lost cooking gene is really getting active.

Sauteed Brussels Sprouts

So I found the recipe for the pork tenderloin on MyRecipes.com, and I was trying to think of something new and different to make with it.  I love asparagus, but it is not one of Budgee’s favorites.  Also I was wanting to make something that was fairly seasonal.  So when walking through the store, I found some Brussels Sprouts.  My memories of Brussels Sprouts were boiled, and kind of mushy and not very tasty.  So I figured I could only improve on that.  How do you improve on that?  Bacon.  Bacon can make anything better.  So here is what I did.

Sautéed Brussels Sprouts

  • Brussels Sprouts
  • Lemon Juice
  • Lemon Zest
  • Pancetta
  • Minced Garlic

I added the Brussels Sprouts and then lemon and garlic to a Ziploc bag, and shook it up to coat.  I set them aside while I prepared the pork for the grill, and sautéed the pancetta.  After sautéing the pancetta, I added the Brussels Sprouts and cooked on medium until browned.  Covered with a lid and steamed for about 10 minutes until soft but not mushy.  Served with another splash of lemon juice.

The recipe for the pork tenderloin can be found here.  http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=642273  Of course I grilled it.  🙂  Have I mentioned how much I love my grill? 

Here is how it came out.  It was so yummy.  The pork was so tender, and the Brussels Sprouts were a hit.  Like I said they have been on the repeat.  A little mushroom risotto and dinner was a hit.  Even BudgeE was impressed.  He doesn’t understand the taking pictures prior to eating though.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On another note, I have lost another 1.8 pounds!  Yay!  And I have worked out three times since the last check-in.  I didn’t ride my bike outside, but I did hook it up to the stationary trainer, and gave it a whiz inside.  Yeah I know, but it’s only June, and it’s 98 degrees.  Welcome Texas summer!

Responses

  1. WOW! Talk about cooking genes coming out of the closet. You would not even look at a leaf of lettuce as a child and now you are creating recipes for Brussels sprouts. No wonder my dear son-in-law is wandering around in dazed confusion.

    Love you,

    Your proud mama

    • Thank you Mom. I love you too!

  2. Absolutely! Bacon does make anything better! I am not a big fan of Brussel Sprouts, but try to get a good share of veggies in…so I really appreciated this recipe and will try it in the near future. I do love asparagus though and have actually sauteed it in butter and garlic…not very healthy I suppose, but delicious! Thanks for the blogs, I so enjoy reading them! Love your cousin Jeannie

  3. […] received a message from Budgee that said “I’m jonesing for your Brussels Sprouts.”  So my initial reaction that I had just been spammed, but then I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

