Posted by: Budger | May 2, 2010

Saturday Cycling and Grilled Garlic Lime Chicken

It’s another gorgeous weekend in Texas.  Saturday morning I got up early to go for a bike ride.  It was a short ride around the neighborhood, but it was a great ride.  I was out for about an hour, and this was my first ride since being diagnosed.  I have to admit old habits die hard, and I couldn’t escape the crutch of staying close to the house in case I had a stomach revolt.  So I just rode my route that goes around the lakes in our hood.  I was out dodging the ducks on their morning migration from lake to lake.  It was a little muggy, but with the breeze on the bike, I didn’t care and just mellowed out, listened to the sound of my tire on the road, and got in the groove. 

I do some of my best thinking while I am out on my bike.  I write my blog;  solve work issues; and yesterday planned what I was going to make for dinner.  So on Twitter earlier in the week, there was a lot of buzz about a Garlic Lime Chicken recipe posted out on The Whole Gang by Shirley from Gluten Free Easily.  I love chicken, and I love garlic.  So when I read this recipe, I thought I have got to try this.  But when the weather is beautiful, I love to grill even more, and the more I thought about it, the more I didn’t want to cook this in the house.  So as I pedaled away, I thought about how I could adapt this to a marinade, and then grill the chicken.

Now if you have read my previous posts about my relatively new ventures into the culinary world, you’re probably thinking what I was thinking.  This isn’t going to work.  Budger – stick with the recipe.  You’re not advanced enough to not need step by step instructions.   But what the heck, you’ll never know unless you try.  Four years ago, I never thought I’d be able to ride 40 miles on a bike either, but I did that.  So when I got home from the ride, I studied.  I looked at that recipe at least 10 times.  Four separate times I talked myself out of innovation, and back to cooking it in a pan.  But then I would go outside to do a chore, and look at my grill.  Budger loves her grill.  It’s pure Stainless Steel Weber Heaven.  Ohhhhhhhhhhhh, there is nothing like chicken on a grill.  The seer marks, the golden juiciness, the smell.  OK so how hard can this be?

Turns out it wasn’t that hard.  Now this was my first attempt, and mistake number one is that I really didn’t measure what I did, but went by the look, feel and taste of the marinade.   When it looked like I had the right consistency, and it seemed to have the right taste, I dropped the chicken in, and let it marinade for about two hours.  Then I heated the grill on high heat, placed the chicken on to get those lovely grill marks (flipped it for both sides) and then turned the heat down to a med-low heat and grilled for about 15 minutes give or take (flipping only once) until the chicken was tender to the tong but still juicy.  Oh my……..have I mentioned how much I love to grill?  I was so bummed I missed the Girls Gone Grilling class.

I made up some Roasted Potatoes, Corn on the Cob, and a salad, and voila!  Garlic Lime Chicken heaven!  Here is the recipe with the link.  Shirley at Gluten Free Easily reposted this recipe from Leanne Ely at http://savingdinner.com/.   Thank you Shirley, thank you Leanne, thank you Weber and thank you most of all to that chicken that made my dinner wonderful.

Garlic Lime Chicken

  • 1 teaspoon  salt
  • 1 teaspoon  pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon  cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon  paprika
  • 1 teaspoon  garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon  onion powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  thyme
  • 6  boneless skinless chicken breast halves
  • 2 tablespoons  butter
  • 2 tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1/2 cup  chicken broth
  • 4 tablespoons  lime juice

In a bowl, mix together the seasonings and spices (first 7 ingredients). Sprinkle mixture on both sides of chicken breasts.

In a skillet, heat butter and olive oil together over medium high heat.

Sauté chicken until golden brown on each side, about 5 minutes on either side or until no longer pink in the center.

Remove chicken and add lime juice and chicken broth to the pan, whisking up the browned bits off the bottom of the pan. Keep cooking until sauce has reduced slightly.

Add chicken back to the pan to thoroughly coat and serve..

Now here is what I did.  Forgive the loose approximations.  I was channeling that long-lost cooking gene

Garlic Lime Chicken Marinade

  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup lime juice
  •  salt
  •  pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon  cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon  paprika
  • 2 teaspoons  minced garlic (have I mentioned that I love garlic?)
  • 1/2 teaspoon  onion powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  thyme
  • 6  boneless skinless chicken breast halves

In a Ziploc bag I mixed the olive oil and lime juice until I felt I had enough to cover the chicken breasts and was the right consistency for a marinade.  Enough oil to stick to the chicken, and enough lime to add a zingy flavor to the chicken.  I added the dry ingredients and shook the bag to mix.  Put the chicken in the bag, and shake to cover.  Zip it first!  🙂  Let it marinade in the fridge for two hours or so, flipping occasionally to allow the chicken to be covered on all sides.

Heat the grill on high heat.  Add chicken long enough to get good sear marks  – about 3 minutes a side, and turn down to med-low heat.  Grill on med-low for approximately 10-15 minutes.  Every grill heats differently, so I always watch the chicken, usually with a beer, but alas now I go with the Sauvignon Blanc.   Damn gluten!  But I digress…

Remove from grill and let stand for about 5 minutes. 

Here is what it looked like when it was done.  It was delicious, and I thought it turned out very good for a first attempt.  Maybe a little more lime juice next time.  But it was yummy!  Any suggestions for improvement are welcome!

Leave a Reply

Categories

