Posted by: Budger | April 27, 2010

Shrimp and Spinach Risotto – Risotto I Love You

I enjoyed the Shrimp and Beer Risotto so much, I decided I wanted to make it again, however I couldn’t find any gluten-free beer.  So I searched the internet for other recipes, and came across the following from Kristi at Austin Farm to Table.  I made it up Sunday night to go with some Grilled Tenderloin, and it was really good.  I am reposting the recipe here with Kristi’s permission.  Thank you!

Shrimp & Spinach Risotto

  • 1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 tbsps olive oil
  • 2 tbsps garlic  minced
  • 2-3 spring onions sliced
  • 1 cup arborio rice
  • 6 cups liquid ( Broth or stock is going to have a richer flavor. I ended up only using 4 cups of broth with 1 cup of wine.)
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 1 bunch of spinach chopped
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste
In a pan, heat 1 tbsp olive oil over medium.  Add 1 tbsp garlic and shrimp.  Saute until shrimp is cooked through and then set it to the side.
 
In a pot, heat 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat.  Add 1 tbsp garlic and the spring onions.  Saute until they are transparent.  Add the arborio rice and stir in the pan until it is well coated.  Add 1 cup of stock and turn continuously until it is absorbed.  Continue to add liquid (alternate stock and wine) 1/2 cup at a time, stirring continuously until you have about 1/2 cup left to add. Add the spinach with the last of the liquid and stir until the last of the liquid is absorbed.  Add the shrimp, lemon juice and season to taste.
 
Unfortunately I didn’t get a good picture.  This made plenty of risotto, so I have had some leftovers for lunch.  I took it to work yesterday with a salad.   
 
I am currently on a risotto kick, so pass along your favorite recipes.  Last night BFF Shubie Doo took me out for a belated birthday dinner to the Mockingbird Bistro.  I emailed the restaurant earlier to find out about gluten-free options, and Chef John Sheely wrote back that all menu items could be adapted.  They were very helpful, and the Lobster Risotto was outstanding.  Today is my 6 month check up with the Cardiologist and a pacemaker download.  I’m sure he won’t be thrilled about the weight gain, but that is levelling out.  Hopefully I am not the first person to gain weight once starting a gluten-free diet after being diagnosed with Celiac Disease.  We’ll see what tales little George tattles on me now. 
Leave a Reply

Categories

