Posted by: Budger | April 7, 2010

Welcome to Spring in Texas

It’s springtime in Texas, and that means one thing: Bluebonnets!  My favorite time of year, there is nothing more beautiful than a field of Texas Wildflowers.  In our neck of the woods, you don’t have to travel far to see some beautiful shows of fields and fields of Bluebonnets, Indian Paint Brush and other wildflowers.  The wildflowers cause traffic jams in some areas as people will travel from all over with their children, pets and whatever to take pictures in the fields.  For me, they make me pause everytime I see a field, and thank God for the beauty.

Spring in Texas for me means time to get out and get motivated.  I realize that most other people aren’t cold in Texas, but in the winter, I am.  To me, it’s miserable.  This year, we had a lot of rain and overcast skies, and I was getting depressed from lack of sunshine.  But the last few weeks, the weather has been gorgeous, and it’s time to get out and enjoy before the heat sets in.  Riding my bike in springtime is also great.  It’s a great way to see the wildflowers!  I’m already planning a ride for the weekend to get out and see the flowers. 

3 years ago we decided it was finally time to join the traffic jam of people out for the perfect Bluebonnet picture.  So we packed up the Westies and headed out for that one perfect shot.  4 hours later, we had two white dogs covered yellow in pollen, and a bunch of pictures (none of which we thought would be very good) and a bad case of hay fever.  We were pretty sure we would never do that again.  The dogs wanted to eat the Bluebonnets, and they ended up tramping more.  When we got home, we were told that Bluebonnets are poisonous to dogs, and then we started getting the email pictures of the other critters that like to hang out in the wildflowers: RATTLESNAKES!  Big ones too!  OK so we won’t do that again.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy the view from afar.

So time to snap out of the blahs, and get back out in the sun.  These pictures are reused in my calendar every year as my personal reminder to get out and enjoy life.  To my friends outside of Texas, Welcome to Spring in Texas!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

