Posted by: Budger | April 4, 2010

Happy Easter! Shrimp and Beer Risotto

I saw this recipe for Shrimp and Beer Risotto when I was surfing blogs a few months ago.  I have been meaning to make it, but when I went Gluten Free I thought it would be great except for the beer.  Most beer is not Gluten Free.  But there are breweries that make Gluten Free beer, so yesterday I went on my quest to find some.  I ended up at Spec’s – home of fine wines, spirits and finer food.  I got some Green’s Amber Ale.  So today as part of trying to get my lunches ready for the week, I made this up.  This is really high calorie, but it’s something different.  Also it made a ton, so I will probably get some dinner out of it as well.  Even the dogs are beginning to think I’ve gone crazy as after making this, I had to make the Spinach Salad for our Easter Dinner tonight with some friends. 

Shrimp & Beer Risotto

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb shrimp – peeled and de-veined
  • 2 cups Arborio rice
  • 2 – 3 cups seafood or chicken stock (warm or at least room temperature – I ended up using 3 cups)
  • 12 oz. pilsner or hefeweizen (wheat) beer (preferably warm)
  • 1 stick salted butter
  • 1 large yellow onion (diced)
  • 4 cloves garlic (minced)
  • 1/2 cup fresh grated parmesan
  • 1/4 cup fresh Italian parsley (chopped)
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lemon thyme (chopped)
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh marjoram (chopped)
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • Cracked Pepper
  • Salt

Directions:
1. Heat the olive oil in a frying pan, then add the shrimp and sautée until they are cooked. Don’t overcook them, as they will be heated later on with the rice.

2 . In a large pan over medium heat, melt the butter. Once the butter has melted, add the onions. Let cook for a few minutes and then add the garlic. Continue to cook for another few minutes until the onions are translucent.

3. Add the rice to the mixture and begin to let the rice toast. Let it absorb all of the butter; continue to stir regularly for a few minutes, until the rice is lightly toasted throughout.

4. Add the beer and stir. Continue to stir occasionally until all the beer is absorbed and the rice begins to feel dry.

5. Once the beer has been absorbed, add a cup of broth. Stir regularly until the rice has absorbed the broth, then add another cup of broth, the shrimp, and the herbs. As needed, you can add additional broth until the risotto is done – cooked and slightly al dente – but not crunchy.

6. Once the risotto has reached the right consistency, add the parmesan and honey. Add salt and fresh cracked pepper to taste. Turn off the heat. Cover and let rest for about 3-5 min. Serve while still hot.

This turned out pretty well except the beer was a little more bitter than what I had hoped.  I don’t know if that is because I ended up with an Ale rather than a Pilsner, or if it’s the Gluten Free.  But there is definitely a lingering beer taste in the risotto.  Here is the link to “Foodie is the New Forty”, where I found this recipe.  If anyone else decides to try it, let me know how it turned out for you.

 

Responses

  1. Wow! I am in agreement with your Mom and Eric. Who snatched Rhonda? I have always known that you can do anything you want to do. Who knew you would come to enjoy cooking? I find cooking to be very gratifying, especially when you make something that tastes really good and is good for you at the same time. Keep on cooking Chef Rhonda! By the way, when will you be hosting a dinner party? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

