Posted by: Budger | May 21, 2009

Have you laughed at yourself lately?

One of my biggest pet peeves are people who build themselves up by way of tearing others down.  We all know one.  You know – that one person that you cannot make happy no matter how hard you try and constantly reminds you of the failure.  The one that always suffers more than anyone else going through the same troubles.  The one that takes everything as a personal attack from the financial crisis to a natural disaster.  And it is always someone else’s fault.  And the one that seems to delight in hearing other’s problems.  As a very wise teacher used to say “they’re out there”, and they have no sense of humor.

This used to not bother me so much.  After all, I am not always a poster child for positivity.  I can get sucked into a good “bitch session” right along with the best.  But after everything that I’ve experienced over the past few years, I guess I have gotten tired of the negativity and the drama.  I find myself “walking out” on situations that wear me down.  I am using the words “get over it” and “move on” a lot more frequently to myself.  After all, life is too short.

As I have gotten older, I have become more secure in who I am.  When I was younger I cared A LOT about what others thought.  Not so much anymore.  I still have my insecurities, but I have learned to laugh it off a lot more.  You see there is nothing better than a good laugh, and the one thing I have learned is that I provide myself and others with loads of material. 

I am the original klutz.  My klutziness has grown with me.  There was the time I dropped my book bag of accounting text books on the head of a gentleman in the aisle seat of an airplane, and knocked him out cold.  No lie – they had to call the paramedics.  I almost brought an entire escalator to a crash when my briefcase fell apart spilling my notebook and paper everywhere.  Oh and then there was the time I walked the entire length of the United Airlines terminal in Denver with my skirt balled up in my panty hose and my rear exposed.  These are things you only hear about…right?  Well…not really.

So on Saturday, I had another episode, and I was so mortified, that I thought I would NEVER learn to laugh about it.  That only lasted three days, and then even I saw the humor in the situation.  And after reading Steenky Bee’s post today about no pants and puke, I reminded myself that this is life.  Nothing is ever perfect.  So here’s the story…I ended up with toilet paper caught in my pants, and I spent an HOUR in a Target walking around with a white tail.  And I wasn’t skulking in the Target.  No – I was walking up and down the aisles like I owned the place – talking to people, and asking for help.  Now when I finally discovered this I was so embarrassed.  So I called Shannon, and after she laughed so hard she was hyperventilating, I began to see a little humor, but I swore her to secrecy anyway.  However the humor of the situation grows on me every day.  What’s a little TP among friends?  After all, I was more than prepared if I needed to blow my nose.

Just laugh it off.  Get over it and move on.  Everybody else is, so you might as well join them.  I think of these episodes as part of my retirement plan.  When those other people are sitting in the nursing home, old, alone and bitter, I’ll be there giggling in my memories of my klutziness (also known as dementia) – most likely with my butt hanging out of my wheelchair.  Who’s coming to visit?

Leave a Reply

Categories

