Posted by: Budger | October 2, 2007

The Odd Duck

We live in a subdivision that has two mini lakes, actually large ponds, that are primarily used for flood control.  They have become the home of a very large flock of ducks of all colors and sizes.  They are quite interesting to watch.  When I ride around my neighborhood, I tend to do laps around one of the lakes, so I see a lot of ducks.  The other night, there was one duck being separated and chased from the flock by all the other ducks.  He was the odd duck out.

I can relate to this.  From the first day that I started my biking adventures, I have been the “odd duck”.  From the strange and doubting looks on the day that I first went bike shopping to the strange and questioning looks I get when I show up for a ride in the middle of a Texas HOT summer wearing compression hose, I feel like the odd duck.  Last weekend, I was asked for the umpteenth time, “what are you wearing on your legs?”

Now, let me say up front, in case I infer a positive thought…I HATE my compression hose.  I HATE my Lymphedema.  On a good day, I am only hot and uncomfortable.  On a bad day, my legs are swollen, ache, painful to the touch and I feel like I’m slogging through jello.  On these days I refer to my legs as my “crappy legs”.   When I was diagnosed a year ago, I was relieved to finally know what the problem was.  I had been told that my large legs were always a weight issue.  Just lose some weight and they will get better.  Well I had lost 60 pounds, and they were not getting better.  So it was a relief to know that there was a cause.

Now that I’ve been through two rounds of treatment, I’ve learned to adapt.  After all, they may be crappy legs, but they are still better than nothing.  And I’ve even learned to accept the compression hose.  Now when we ride in the MS150, my friends sign my compression hose.  My legs are colorful, and I don’t have to wear sunscreen on them.Shannon signs my leg And when I’m feeling tired and on the verge of giving up, and I see one of the Brook Army Hospital Amputees riding past me on a HAND bike, I remind myself that crappy legs are better than none. MS150 Bike to the Beach 2006 042 And crappy legs in compression hose are better than what people with MS go through on a daily basis. 

So if you ever see this chick riding through your hood in compression hose, give me a quack.  I may be the odd duck, but my crappy legs are still going.

Leave a Reply

Categories

