Posted by: Budger | September 15, 2007

That’s what friends are for….

I am very blessed in my life in that I have wonderful friends, and that I can truly enjoy time with them.  For most of the last 13 years, I have been a certified road warrior, traveling for work Monday – Friday.  By the time I got home, I had very little time for friends as I needed to spend time with my husband.  So I got to the point a few years ago, where I felt that I hadn’t nurtured some of my friendships the way that I should have.  Fortunately for me, a lot of my friends are in the same boat, and so they understood.  What I have reaped from these last few years are unlimited amounts of reward. 

My friends share my laughs, and make fun of it, and they share my pain.  But most of all they share.  Now my best friend is my husband, always there to make me laugh, and always there to stand me back up.  However, the core that sustains is my group of girlfriends. 

We are one wild and crazy group.  We pack up and fly to Cincinnati to support one of us running in a marathon.  And when that one crossed the finish line, it was as if we all did.  They are also the core group around my biking adventures.  If you’ve read my blog, you’ve heard them mentioned.

Of course the leader of the pack is Shannon.  Shannon is the one that gets us started on all of the wacky adventures.  Shannon is an adventure.  A world traveler, aficionado of the Middle East – she was the first woman that my company put not just ON a project in the Middle East, but leading it.  And there was nobody that could have pulled it off better.  My nickname for her – CLANKY because she has big, clanky well…you know.  Shannon is the one that talked me into the MS150, and she is the one that stayed by my side and encouraged me to keep going, even when it was slowing her down.  Earlier this year, Shannon decided to run a marathon, and wanted a support group.  We didn’t hesitate, and we all packed up and spent the weekend in Cincinnati cheering her across the finish

.Rhonda and Shannon XMAS 2006

Denise is the SUPPORT Crew Chief.  You need support of any kind, and Denise is there.  She runs our car during the MS150, and keeps us organized during our adventures.  She has endless amounts of energy, and I am always saying to her – I don’t know how you do it.  From Dog Walks to Bike Rides to Marathons to Shopping, Denise is there, keeping everyone pumped and laughing.

DSC00034

Sandra is a soul-sister.  We understand each other so well, and there are days when she could finish a sentence for me.  She has the nickname June Cleaver – but she really isn’t, and just when you least expect it – her inner DIVA will come out.  The Hula Girls

Another member of our group, is my best friend Debbie – she is camera shy.  She keeps us going with her sarcasm and humor.  We try to get together regularly for birthdays etc. but it is hard.  However we  know we’re always there for each other. 

My friendships inspire me and sustain me and intrigue me.  I’ve recently been fortunate to resurrect some old friendships, and I look forward to making new ones.  So cheers to all of my friends – mentioned or not, you know who you are – and thanks for being there.  My journey is just beginning….

I ride for Mo – another friend – because that’s what friends are for!I ride for Mo

Leave a Reply

Categories

