Posted by: Budger | September 2, 2007

These are the best of times

Styx "The Best of Times" was the theme song for my high school prom, or something.  I don’t remember for sure.  After all that was 25 years ago.  Friday night, we went with some friends to a Foreigner, Styx and Def Leppard concert.  I was excited as Styx and Foreigner were two of my favorite all time bands.  This was an "event" for us.  We were staying out late.  Now, you know you’re old, when you get to the concert and the first place you find is not the beer line, but the bathroom line.  2nd clue is when you do finally get to the beer line, they have a sign saying that they card anyone who looks under 30, and they don’t even give you a second look.   And the final sign that times have changed is when the crowd holds open their cellphones during the beginning of "Come Sail Away" instead of a lighter.  Oh well I still had a good time, and I was home by 12.   And I have discovered that this theme song came 25 years too early in my life. 
 
I’m 46-3, and these are the best of times.  Why 46-3?  Well, 46 is a "milestone" number for me.  That is the age that my father was when he died of a massive heart attack.  For 24 years, that number has loomed like a dark shadow as year after year, the doctor has said "if you don’t take care of yourself, you’re going to end up just like your dad."  About 2 years ago, it finally clicked, that although it wasn’t a destined reality, it was a real threat, and it was time to do something.  Since that time, 46 looms in the back of my mind.  I know it’s just a number, but it’s like a monkey on my back, always reminding me that it’s there, inspiring me to defy it.  And at 46-3, I’m doing things I never thought possible. 
 
At the end of the concert, we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs to get to our car.  The other couple stopped at the elevator, and said they were willing to wait.  Eric offered to bring the car down and pick me up.  I said no, and we walked up the stairs.  These are the best of times. 
 
Training stats for the last two weeks:
 
Miles: 116
Average Speed: 12.6 mph
 
7 weeks until the MS150.
 
Leave a Reply

Categories

