Posted by: Budger | October 12, 2006

It’s not about the destination, but about the journey.

On Sunday afternoon, I crossed a finish line.  It was the Official Finish Line of the 2006 MS150 Bike to the Beach.  I had completed 64 miles.  But in reality it was much more.  It was a milestone in a journey.  I forgot my fear of doing something out of my comfort zone.  Instead I crossed a finish line.  Next year, I will go farther.

The MS150 was a life-changing event.  It gave me the gift of friendship and awareness.  I met new people and made new friends.  And I became aware that there are worse things in the world than wearing compression hose.  I rode for my friend Monica, but I received the benefit.  I was inspired by the amputee riders on their hand bikes tackling every hill that I did.  I was inspired by the many riders who rode because they had MS.  I was inspired by my friend Shannon, who despite the fact that I slowed her down, never left me and rode with me across the finish line. 

We had a great weekend.  The weather was warm, but it was nice.  I suffered from leg cramps, so I didn’t go as far as I would have liked.  But I have no regrets, and I had a great time.  We had a wonderful support crew that cheered us on at every stop.  When I wasn’t riding the bike, I rode in the support car and cheered along.  I laughed until it hurt, and I’m still waking up with the giggles.

Thank you to all of my friends and family that cheered me on and supported me through this training.  Thank you to all of the generous people that supported the National MS Society.  I have raised over $2300 dollars with your efforts.   Thank you to P2 Energy Solutions who generously sponsored us by providing us with an RV for our overnight stop.  

 

Next year I will ride again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

