Posted by: Budger | October 1, 2006

It’s Time to Try Defying Gravity

Hi everyone,
 
This is it…..less than a week to go.  Am I ready?  I’m as ready as I’m going to get.  Today I took my bike into the shop to get its inspection.  This morning I went for my last weekend training ride.  I did 27 miles.  For those interested in stats, following is a recap of the last 6 months.
 
I have ridden over 250 miles on my road bike, over 50 on my Mountain bike.  I have done at least that many miles on the Stationary Bike and in Spin Class.  I have lost an additional 25 pounds, and gone down 2 sizes in clothing.  My Lymphedema treatments are progressing, and my legs have reduced in size.  I’ve learned to adapt to riding in my compression hose.  It’s the least I can do. 
 
But most importantly, I have recognized the value of family and friends in achieving goals.  So I’m honored to be riding for my friend Monica.  She wrote to me that her wish is that they find a cure for MS in time for her children who are at a greater risk due to her diagnosis.  I hope the same.
 
As you all know, my greatest hobby is Musical Theater, and following is a quote from a song from the musical Wicked, that stuck with me today as I was riding.  I thank you again for all of your support.   Please keep me and Team No Limits in your thoughts next weekend.  Hope for good weather and a strong tailwind. 
 
Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes
And leap…

It’s time to try defying gravity
 
—Lyrics from Defying Gravity from the musical Wicked
Leave a Reply

Categories

