Posted by: Budger | August 3, 2010

Learning to Love Fish: Grilled Chilean Sea Bass and Potato Tart

I have never been a lover of fish.  When I was a kid, my grandpa was an avid fisherman, and we had regular doses of Trout.  Ugh……But over the years, I have learned to like some fish.  Unfortunately, I have not learned to love Trout or Salmon.  To me they both have a horrible fishy taste.  Over the last 5 years I have gotten more adventurous, and went from only eating Halibut and Cod to trying Sea Bass, Sword Fish, Tilapia, Mahi Mahi and Grouper.  And every once in a while, I’ll try another taste of Salmon, only to regret it.  I don’t like Tuna much either.  So my fish habit is not an easy or cheap one.   

One of the side effects of my Celiac diagnosis is that I have a fat malabsorption issue as well.  I guess this is somewhat common with long-term damage to the intestine.  So I have gone on a low-fat diet, and using MyFoodDiary.com, I track my total fat and total Saturated Fat intake.  With the history of heart disease in my family, and my own heart issues, I figured I would kill two birds with one stone, and make my gut and my cardiologist happy all at once.  So since I’m on a ~ 1900 calorie per day diet, I try to keep my total fat intake between 20-25% which gives me a target range of approximately 45-60 grams.  For the last month I have done pretty good.  I’ve only had a few days where I have gone outside that range.  And the results have been amazing.  The scale hasn’t been that impressive, but I’ve lost a lot of inches.  My pants are looser, and my tops are looser in the arms.  I feel so much better.  I am very anxious for my 6 month cardiology follow-up to see what the good doc says.  Anyway, because of this I have been eating more fish, and that means trying to come up with new and different ways to cook fish.  

I don’t like to cook fish in the house too much.  It stinks it up, and the smell lessens the appeal.  So what does Budger do in this case?  I grill, of course.  Have I mentioned how much I love to grill?  Never mind.  So I’ve been perfecting my fish grilling.  I even bought this really cool fish spatula for the grill that has an extra long handle and extra wide base.  I’ve gotten pretty good at it, and I’ve grilled all of my favorites.  But two weeks ago, I came across the below recipe at AllRecipes.com, and I had to try it.  It was so good, that I made it again this past weekend.  It helped that they had Sea Bass on sale at HEB.   

Here is the link to AllRecipes.com http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/grilled-sea-bass/Detail.aspx.  I only made one substitution.  Instead of drizzling the butter and the olive oil, I drizzled only the olive oil at the end with some garlic and herbs.  It was great, and it was really easy.  All you need is some Sea Bass, Lemon Pepper, Paprika, Onion Powder and Garlic Powder.  I make the full recipe of the spices, so that I have enough to cover the fish.  I would recommend grilling on more of a medium heat so the Paprika doesn’t burn.  This is so easy, and it is so good.   

I made it with the Caramelized Onion Potato Tart recipe that I saw Tyler Hamilton make on the Food Network.  And I had a great dinner.  Budgee wouldn’t eat the fish, so I grilled him a steak.  But my dinner was better.  I had one filet leftover, and I had it for dinner on Sunday night.  It was even better the second night.  I was afraid the fish would get mushy, but it didn’t.  

So here you go!  If you like fish, you need to try this recipe.  It doesn’t need to be Sea Bass.  I’m sure it would be great on most fish.  

Grilled Chilean Sea Bass

  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • lemon pepper to taste
  • sea salt to taste
  • 2 pounds sea bass
  • 2 large cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chopped Italian flat leaf parsley
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  1. Preheat grill for high heat. I turned the heat down after I added the fish to the grill
  2. In a small bowl, stir together the garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, lemon pepper, and sea salt. Sprinkle seasonings onto the fish. Also I did not add any salt.
  3. Lightly oil grill grate. Grill fish for 7 minutes, then turn and drizzle with butter. Continue cooking for 7 minutes, or until easily flaked with a fork. Drizzle with olive oil, garlic and herbs before serving.

And here it is.  

Grilled Chilean Sea Bass

 

And here is the picture to the Caramelized Onion Potato Tart.  I wouldn’t say this was easy, but it was fun to make.  They reminded me of campfire potatoes.  I got to use Budgee’s Cast Iron pans.  This is the 2nd time I made this, and although it hasn’t come out as advertised yet, it was closer this time.  I get to play with my mandolin when I make this.   

Caramelized Onion Potato Tart

 

If you’re watching your sodium intake, check out Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom for a great blog post and giveaway on Low Sodium Boar’s Head Deli products.  I got some low sodium Ham over the weekend, and it’s really good as well.  http://www.adventuresofaglutenfreemom.com/2010/08/boars-head-lower-sodium-challenge-and-giveaway/  

Update on my diet and exercise challenge – I am now down 15 pounds, but I’m still struggling with getting out to ride.  The weather is not very inviting.

Responses

  1. Fond memories of all the trout caught and all the hamburgers you ate instead. Will you be eating canned peas next?

    The only change I will make to the sea bass recipe is substituting lemon zest and ground pepper for the lemon pepper. Just don’t like the taste of that seasoning. And I will make this.

    So proud of all you do

    Love, Mom

    • I can still smell the Velveeta “bait” that had been sitting in the sun all day while waiting to go on a hook. I’m going to try this with the Lemon zest. I didn’t think of that.

      Love you too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

